Beginners Chakra Meditation and Balancing: What is Chakra

What is Chakra: Chakra Meditation and Balancing For Beginners

What is Chakra? – This is a brief overview of the Chakra system and how the Chakras may be balanced.

A belief in the Hindu and yogic traditions, the chakra are seven points along the body that indicate the location of the energy channels within the body. Each of these, in turn, governs various aspects of your personality with the top and final chakra leading to total enlightenment when opened. By practicing chakra meditation with each one, you can begin your path to accessing each level and finding precise chakra balancing. Remember to sit cross-legged on the floor with your back straight for each meditation as you open yourself to spiritual awakening.

Read How to Open Your Chakras and Chakra Balancing for information on Chakra balancing, meditations, hand positions and mantras for each of the 7 Chakras.

Muladhara / Root Chakra

c1As it is the lowest, the root chakra is located at the very base of the spine and governs instincts, survival, and security. The best way to achieve chakra balancing to open the Muladhara is to have your thumb and forefinger touch while chanting LAM and focusing on the chakra’s location.


Swadhisthana / Sacral Chakra

c2Located directly at the sacral bone, this Chakra governs your sexuality and ability to connect with others. For chakra balancing, place both hands palm up in your lap on top of one another with your left hand on the bottom and thumb tips touching. Chant VAM and envision your Swadhisthana.


Manipura / Navel Chakra

c3Representing the digestive system, the navel chakra governs self-confidence and personal control. When you are ready for this chakra meditation, hold your hands in front of your stomach. Have the fingers touch at the tips and point them away from the body. Cross the thumbs and chant RAM.


Anahata / Heart Chakra

c4Unsurprisingly, this chakra governs your ability to love and accept love from others. Have the tips of index and thumb touch on the right hand and place this against the center of your chest at the same level as your heart. Place your left hand on your left knee and chant YAM.


Vishuddhi / Throat Chakra

c5As sound emanates from the throat, so your throat chakra governs your ability to communicate and express yourself through sound. Cross your fingers facing the palm of the hand and touch the tips of the thumbs so as to create an open circle. Focus on the chakra’s position and chant HAM.


Ajna / Third Eye Chakra

c6Located in the middle of the forehead, the brow chakra rules over your ability to see not only the physical world but also your spiritual ideas through imagination and others’ auras through intuition. With the hands below the breast, straighten the middle fingers and have their tips touch. Next, have the remaining fingers touch at the knuckles and finalize by touching the tips of the thumbs together. Chant OM to begin this chakra meditation.

Sahasrara / Crown Chakra

Violet crown chakra symbol

Crown Chakra

The pinnacle of the chakra located at the very top of the head, the Sahasrara is total spiritual awakening, connecting you completely to yourself, others and the world around you. Place your hand in front of your stomach. Cross your fingers being sure to keep your right thumb on top of the left. Then, while keeping the others crossed, extend your ring fingers upward so that they are straight and they are touching at the tips. Chant NG.

Leave a Reply